You Know How To Love Me

You Know How To Love Me was a song recorded by Phyllis Hyman in 1979. I had it on vinyl and I forgot how good it was until recently.
Phyllis had various releases from 1977 up until 1995 when tragically she committed suicide at the age of 45.

Phyllis Hyman

Phyllis Hyman

The original song is a dance track, probably what you would consider to be classic disco, Phyllis’ soulful voice giving the track depth and emotion.

There have been various covers, one that I have been playing a lot recently is the cover by Groove Junkies (Evan Landes) ft Indeya – GJ’s main mix released in Sep 2011. Indeya is Diane Smith and she has a 5 octave vocal range.

Groove Junkies Mix

I really love the feel of this mix, especially the drum track which reminds me of a Wipe The Needle track which I love. The song reminds me of good times and takes me back to carefree days.

This is the original:

Here are the lyrics:

Measure for measure, your love’s so much pleasure

Like a haunting melody, you came inside and captured me

And I’m so happy, you’re the rhythm of my rhyme

You and I together, we’ll stand the test of time

You know how to love me (Sure you do), You know how to make it right (So nice)

You know how to love me (There’s no denyin’),  Sweet as morning light

Sooner or later I knew you’d come my way, you’re welcome to my love just promise that you’ll stay

You know how to love me right in a special way, You know how to love me, tonight I wanna say

You know how to love me, You’re the real that I feel, never go away

Seeing’s believin’ don’t you know you’re a dream come true,

Ain’t nothin’ deceivin’ ‘Bout the way that I’m lovin’ you, yeah

You know how to love me (You know, you know) You know how to make it right (I can feel it)

You know how to love me (No doubt about it) Sweet as morning light

Nothing’s forever that’s what people say, but each time we’re together forever and a day

You know how to love me right in a special way, You know how to love me, tonight I wanna say

You know how to love me you’re the real that I feel, never go away

You know how to love me (Oh, you know that you do) (You know how to love me, baby) You know how to love me (Oh, I know you do, whoa) You know how to love me (Seeing’s believin’) (Don’t you know you’re a dream come true, yeah) You know how to love me (Oh, oh, baby) (Who will take this heart of mine)

Leave a Reply

