Thankful – Tess Leah, Ziggy Funk

Thankful is one of those songs that I play almost every day. When I first heard it I knew that I liked it, but it took a few plays to really grow on me. It is so good that I think it is one of those songs we will remember in years to come and say “oh yes, Ziggy Funk’s Thankful, that was an absolute classic”.

It’s a song about being happy that you have somebody good in your life, somebody who is your ‘everything’. A definite feelgood song. I bought the main mix which has keyboards that I love and chugs along like the classic house dance track that it is. There’s also the Neil Pierce Beat Players mix which has a lighter keyboard touch and is more jazzy with a bouncier vibe, and then the heavy and deeper Sy Sez Dub mix. They are all good, and Tess’s polished vocals are the icing on the cake.

Ziggy Funk is originally from Uganda and lives in London. He is a talented producer, DJ and guitarist who has recently collaborated with Neil Pierce to form the Rhemi label. Neil and Ziggy must be constantly in the studio because they seem to be releasing new tracks every week, and the quality of these releases is substantiated by their chart successes. Neil has a long pedigree in the house music scene (there will be a future blog on Neil and Ziggy later).

Tess Leah is from South East London – she is a singer/songwriter who had her first release in 2005. I think you will agree that her soulful vocals bring a lot of emotion to this track.

Ziggy Funk

Ziggy Funk

Neil Pierce

Neil Pierce

Click here for all mixes of Thankful

So what do you think ? Sub throb rating = 7,  Sue rating = 9.

 

Here are the lyrics:

I used to think that I would never find somebody like you

Never believed and never crossed my mind and then you walked in to my life

Now you got me crazy, crazy, crazy your love is amazing and I just can’t get enough

Now you got me wanting and wanting and wanting you make me feel so high, I wanna touch the sky

I’ve been spending all my life just thinking about you

I’ve been waiting oh so long just to be near you

I’ve searched high and low, now I seem to know

That a love like yours is golden and I’m thankful

Just thinking about you

And I’m thankful

Just to be near you

Now I’m thankful for the joy you bring

My heartbeat you’re my everything

And when I’m down and low you pick me right back up

No more rain days

Take away the pain

Now you got me crazy, crazy, crazy your love is amazing and I just can’t get enough

Now you got me wanting and wanting and wanting you make me feel so high, I wanna touch the sky

I’ve been spending all my life just thinking about you

I’ve been waiting oh so long just to be near you

I’ve searched high and low, now I seem to know

That a love like yours is golden and I’m thankful

I’ve been spending all my life just thinking about you

I’ve been waiting oh so long just to be near you

I’ve searched high and low, now I seem to know

That a love like yours is golden and I’m thankful

Yes I’m thankful, yeh I’m thankful

That a love like this is golden and I’m thankful

Yes I’m thankful, you know I’m thankful

A love like this is golden and I’m thankful

Now you got me crazy, crazy, your love is amazing and I just can’t get enough

Now you got me wanting and wanting and wanting you make me feel so high, I wanna touch the sky

I’ve been spending all my life just thinking about you

I’ve been waiting oh so long just to be near you

I’ve searched high and low, now I seem to know

That a love like yours is golden and I’m thankful

I’ve been spending all my life just thinking about you

I’ve been waiting oh so long just to be near you

I’ve searched high and low, now I seem to know

That a love like yours is golden and I’m thankful

And I’m thankful (repeat x 15)

I’ve been spending all my life just thinking about you

I’ve been waiting oh so long just to be near you

I’ve searched high and low, now I seem to know

That a love like yours is golden and I’m thankful

Leave a Reply

